The Blind Alphabet in Motion

Composer Jaco Meyer has composed music for the Letter B: Babery to Bigeminate which forms part of Willem Boshoff's Blind Alphabet Project. Click on the works below for an audiovisual experience of Babery to Bigeminate. The sound check is to ensure an optimal listening experience. For more info watch Jaco Meyer on Composing for the Blind Alphabet here.

The Blind Alphabet :: Letter B - Babery to Bigeminate

A SOUND CHECK

A SOUND CHECK

B1 BABERY

B1 BABERY

Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis) and Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Wednesday, 5 May 1993.

B2 BACCATE

B2 BACCATE

Jelutong (Dyera costulata) and Tamboti (Spirostachys africana). Thursday, 6 May 1993.

B3 BACILLARY

B3 BACILLARY
Six hundred thin bamboo rods (Arundinaria sp), wooden crate made of Mahogany (Swietiena mahogani) and Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). Monday, 10 May 1993.

B4 BACULIFORM

B4 BACULIFORM
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis), Tamboti (Spirostachys africana) and Douglas fir (Pseudotsuga mensiesii). Friday, 7 May 1993. December 1994, reworked.

B5 BALANOID

B5 BALANOID
Leadwood (Combretum imberbe). Saturday, 8 May 1993.

B6 BANDEROLE

B6 BANDEROLE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), Saligna (Eucalyptus saligna) were used. Friday, 14 May 1993.

B7 BARBATED

B7 BARBATED
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), Poplar (Populus sp.). Tuesday, 11 May 1993.

B8 BARBÉE

B8 BARBÉE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Thursday, 13 May 1993.

B9 BARBELLATE

B9 BARBELLATE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), short-bristled shoe-brushes and long-bristled heavy-duty painting brushes. Wednesday, 12 May 1993.

B10 BARBULE

B10 BARBULE
Yellowood (Podocarpus sp.), Rhodesian Teak (Baikiaea plurijuga). Wednesday, 19 May 1993.

B11 BARCHANOID

B11 BARCHANOID
English Oak (Quercus robur), Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis), Rosewood (Dalbergia stevensonii), and Mahogany (Swietiena mahogani). Saturday, 15 May 1993.

B13 BARRY

B13 BARRY
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), Rhodesian Teak (Baikiaea plurijuga) and (Podocarpus sp.) from Australia. Monday, 17 May 1993.

B14 BASCULE

B14 BASCULE
Rhodesian Teak (Baikiaea plurijuga), Imbuia (Phoebe porosa) and Meranti (Shorea sp.) Thursday, 20 May 1993

B15 BASIFUGAL

B15 BASIFUGAL
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). Friday, 21 May 1993

B16 BATHYCOLPOUS

B16 BATHYCOLPOUS
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). Monday, 24 May 1993.

B17 BATRACHIAN

B17 BATRACHIAN
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis) and Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Thursday, 27 May 1993.

B18 BAVIN

B18 BAVIN
Chopped-up firewood obtained from a roadside shop in the Lowveld. Saturday, 22 May 1993.

B19 BELEMNOID

B19 BELEMNOID
Leadwood (Combretum imberbe) and Blackwood (Acacia melanoxylon). Tuesday, 25 May 1993

B20 BELONIFORM

B20 BELONIFORM
Saligna (Eucalyptus saligna), Blackwood (Acacia melanoxylon). Wednesday, 26 May 1993. Later, in October 1994, a traditional weapon; a small javelin made by migrant labourers from an old broomstick and decorated in woven bands of thin, colourful electrical wire was added

B21 BENDY

B21 BENDY
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis) and a white wood suspected to be Gramin. Friday, 28 May 1993.

B22 BERYLLOID

B22 BERYLLOID
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). Tuesday, 1 June 1993.

B23 BEZANT

B23 BEZANT
Black and yellow Zebrawood, (Dalbergia melanoxylon). Saturday, 29 May 1993.

B24 BEZEL

B24 BEZEL
Pau Marfim (Balfourrodendron riedelianum), Meranti (Shorea sp.), Burmese Teak (Tectona grandis) and Saligna (Eucalyptus saligna). Monday, 31 May 1993.

B26 BICARINATE

B26 BICARINATE
Matumi wood (Breonadia microcephala), Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis) and Blackwood (Acacia melanoxylon). Thursday 3 June 1993.

B27 BICAUDATE

B27 BICAUDATE
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis), Oregon Pine (Thuja plicata) (Kiaat). Friday and Saturday, 4 and 5 June 1993.

B28 BICOLLIGATE

B28 BICOLLIGATE
Toon wood (Cedrela toona). Monday, 7 June 1993.

B29 BICONJUGATE

B29 BICONJUGATE
Meranti (Shorea sp.). Tuesday, 8 June 1993.

B30 BICORN

B30 BICORN
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). Wednesday, 9 June 1993.

B31 BICRENATE

B31 BICRENATE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Thursday, 10 June 1993.

B32 BICUSPIDATE

B32 BICUSPIDATE
English Oak (Quercus robur). Friday, 11 June 1993.

B33 BIDENTATE

B33 BIDENTATE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Saturday, 12 June 1993.

B34 BIFARIOUS

B34 BIFARIOUS
Leadwood (Combretum imberbe) Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis), Oregon Pine (Thuja plicata) and Meranti (Shorea sp.). Monday, 14 June 1993.

B35 BIFID

B35 BIFID
Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis). It was carved in such a way as to suggest that a knife or such thing had cleaved it down the centre. Tuesday, 15 June 1993.

B36 BIFISTULAR

B36 BIFISTULAR
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa). Friday, 18 June 1993.

B38 BIFORATE

B38 BIFORATE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), Oregon Pine (Thuja plicata) and Iroko (Chlorophora excelsa). Saturday, 19 June 1993.

B40 BIGEMINATE

B40 BIGEMINATE
Imbuia (Phoebe porosa), Kiaat (Pterocarpus angolensis) and Oregon Pine (Thuja plicata). Monday, 21 June 1993.

Open Gallery 37 items